Peek down memory lane with an iconic view of Main Street.
By Kris Dreessen
This image from the College archives captures the feel of the 1950s, with finned cars, the Red & White Food Market and other Main Street businesses. Much has changed, though the small-town welcome and independent stores operated by neighbors — and Geneseo alumni — stay the same.
Emmeline, the bear statue, has watched over Main Street for more than 100 years. What would become the Rector-Hicks Funeral Home held its first memorial services in 1886. It’s still open on the south end of Main. That same year, J.W. Wadsworth and William Nash renovated a private home into the Big Tree Inn hotel for visitors to the Genesee Valley. It’s now owned by Campus Auxiliary Services, a nonprofit company dedicated to serving the College, including running dining services.
Take a walk down memory lane — and visit the current village — in this issue’s Rewind. What will Main Street look like in another 70 years?